A different take on laundry detergent

This post marks the end of weeks-long radio silence on this blog. :-) It’s good to be back!

The last few weeks of work and the first couple of weeks of stay-at-home mom’ing were so trying that I couldn’t even make it to the computer. I am so glad to be able to take a couple of minutes this morning and get back on track!

I promised my friend/neighbor and my mom a recipe for laundry detergent that didn’t require the 5 gallon bucket, grating soap, or cooking the mixture. Since they both have septic tanks and therefore can not use bleach anyway, I knew just the recipe to give them. The recipe uses Dawn dishwashing liquid as the “soap,” so if you ever use chlorine bleach in your laundry this is NOT the recipe for you.

Note: If you don’t already know, most standard dishwashing liquids (including Dawn) contain ammonia. NEVER MIX BLEACH AND AMMONIA! The combination of these two chemicals creates a toxic gas that causes lung damage and even death.

Ok. Warning is out of the way. Here’s the recipe!

As so many of my homemade ideas have, this one came from One Good Thing by Jillee.

Ingredients:
3 Tablespoons Borax
3 Tablespoons Washing Powder
2 Tablespoons Dawn dishwashing liquid

Put ingredients into a one gallon jug. Pour in 4 cups very hot/boiling water and swirl until dissolved. Let mixture cool and then fill up with cold water. Voila!

Use about 1/2 cup per load. This detergent is very thin, but Jillee says that it still works just as well. Also, if you want an additional scent boost, you can mix in a couple of tablespoons of your favorite scent crystals (I use Purex) to the mixture before adding the water.

Try it and let me know what you think!

One thought on “A different take on laundry detergent

  1. I’m so glad I read this as I had no idea that Dawn contained ammonia! I just recently used it as a stain remover in a load of laundry (The Dawn did get red Gatorade out of a white shirt but now I’m very thankful I didn’t add bleach to that load).

Leave a Reply

