Homemade Sports Drink

Zander is going to daycamp this summer (at least until I finish training my replacement in August). They play outside all morning and have inside activity stations in the afternoons, so I want to make sure that he is getting plenty of fluids and replacing those electrolytes that he is sweating out. I do not, however, want to pay the amount of money required to send a bottle of Powerade or Gatorade every day.

Thankfully, I found the answer on one of my favorite blogs–One Good Thing by Jillee. Jillee was looking for a homemade version of the sports drinks that her boys were guzzling down, and she posted her recipe for the rest of us to enjoy. I have made it about 8 times now, and can throw it together in less than 2 minutes while trying to run out the door to work, daycare, and daycamp in the mornings.

Zander loves it, and it’s made from ingredients that I typically keep around my kitchen anyway. Plus, I know exactly what’s in it! I like that.

Homemade Sports Drink
Adapted from Jillee’s recipe:

1/4 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon kosher or sea salt
1/2 cup orange juice
2 Tablespoons lemon juice (the only real change that I made…Zan likes a little more flavor than 1T will provide)

In a 1 liter bottle, mix dry ingredients and lemon juice with about 1/2 c hot water. Put the cap on and shake to mix until the sugar is dissolved. Add orange juice and fill the rest of the way with cold water. Serve immediately or chill until ready to use! Easy, huh?

I make a liter at a time, and his water bottle holds about half. So far, he has never failed to drink every drop! You could easily make a larger batch by scaling the ingredients up, but it takes so little time to make, I just do it as I go.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

