Sneaky Chicken Pasta Bake

Ok…I am calling this recipe “sneaky” because it has LOTS of veggies in it, but tastes so good that they don’t even notice! I made this dish for the first time a couple of days ago after seeing this recipe on Pinterest. I knew that I had some frozen spinach at home, and this recipe looked too good not to try. I decided to make a few adjustments though. Here’s my version of the recipe:

Sneaky Chicken Pasta Bake

  • 8 oz uncooked pasta (I used two different kinds that I had leftover from other meals)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 c chopped onion
  • 1/2 (16 oz) bag frozen spinach
  • 1 medium zucchini, shredded
  • 1lb boneless chicken
  • 1 (14 oz) can Italian-style diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 1 (8 oz) brick cream cheese
  • 1/2 c sour cream
  • 1½ c shredded mozzarella cheese
  1. Preheat oven to 375°. Cook pasta according to package directions. If you’re using two different types like I did, make sure to put the longer cooking pasta in earlier if you don’t want texture differences.
  2. While pasta cooks, cook onion and chicken in a large skillet until nearly cooked through. Season to taste as chicken cooks. I used Nature’s Seasoning, a dash of italian seasoning mix, onion powder, and garlic powder.
  3. When chicken is almost done, add 1/2 bag of spinach and let it cook a couple of minutes before adding zucchini and tomatoes. When mixture begins to bubble, add cream cheese and sour cream and stir until well incorporated.
  4. Mix in drained pasta and spread in a large baking dish. Cover and bake until bubbly, about 30 minutes.
  5. Top with cheese and return to oven until melted.

This dish was SOOO good! We ate it with my homemade rolls (the recipe for which I will post very soon), and everyone was raving about how delicious this supper was. I was just thrilled that no one seemed to notice that there were THREE different veggies in it. I knew I was taking a chance on the boys not eating at all that night because the spinach was easily visible. I never dreamed that ALL THREE of them would want seconds!

Just for clarification, that’s a toddler male, a 6-year-old male, and adult male ALL eating a meal without complaints that did not include hamburger or potatoes. They didn’t even TRY to pick around the spinach or tomatoes. This one is a keeper for sure!

Next time I’m going to double the recipe and freeze the second half to bake another night.

5 thoughts on “Sneaky Chicken Pasta Bake

    • Great idea! I think that this is one of those dishes that could be used to use up most any leftover veggies. I used the zucchini because I knew it was nearing the end of its life, and I had been trying to find SOMEWHERE to use the spinach that my guys would eat.

Leave a Reply

