Feeling Crafty

I guess that blogging about my home improvement projects lit a fire under me, because I woke up yesterday with a resolve to finish the job that I started. 🙂

I put the last coat of paint on the back bathroom walls in the morning. When I finished, I realized that I has about 1/4 cup of paint left from that  gallon. I knew that I wanted to use some of that paint to make custom artwork for my front bathroom…and if I let it dry out I knew that I would put off the project because I didn’t want to open a whole new gallon.

I had a deadline! I work very well under the pressure of a deadline. Some call it procrastination…I call it creative…procrastination. Ehh. It works for me.

So I loaded up my mom, my boys, my niece and nephew, and headed out to Michael’s to get a few supplies. We hit the jackpot and found a 5-pack of 16″x20″ canvases for $9.95! I only needed two, but Zander has fallen in love with art in the last couple of years. He had been begging for me to get him canvases…so two birds and such. I also picked up a larger canvas for half off (of the normal jacked-up prices…) for the back bathroom. One tube of paint for an accent color (regularly $3.99, but it was also 40% off), and we were ready to go!

I had seen a pin on Pinterest that gave me the idea for this project. I decided to use the colors from the two areas that I was painting (front bathroom–green; hall, foyer, and back bathroom–blue) plus the accent color that I picked up at the store to create artwork that would coordinate perfectly with my rooms without running all over town trying to find the right picture at the right price.

Here’s what I did:

Tape off your design

First, tape off your design.

Then do it again...

Then do it again…

Then pretend it's a paint by number (without the numbers)...

Then pretend it’s a paint by number (without the numbers)…

Remove the tape

Remove the tape and enjoy!

Custom art work for super cheap!

Custom art work for super cheap!

Again, I said custom art work for super cheap!

Again, I said custom art work for super cheap! See how the blue in the painting coordinates with the blue peeking through the doorway? Brilliant!

The final result

The final result…note the bathing child, which allowed me the few minutes necessary for taking these pictures without the creation of messes of horrific proportions.

2 thoughts on “Feeling Crafty

Leave a Reply

