Creamy Orange Coconut Smoothie

The best part of making homemade coconut milk, in my opinion, is definitely using it to make smoothies! We’ve tried several different smoothie flavor combinations in the past few months, but the boys’ very favorite recipe is what I usually call our Orange Creamsicle Smoothie. When we made our first batch of homemade coconut milk yesterday, Zander immediately wanted to try it in that recipe. The results were fantastic! In fact, I only got half of a glass because the boys slurped down their own before descending on mine when I wasn’t looking! I wish their mother had taught them better manners… Oh wait. 😉

DSC_1342

Ingredients:

3 frozen bananas (I had these already peeled, but I often just toss the whole banana in the freezer and use a knife to peel it when I’m ready to use…either way works!)
1 cup orange juice
1 cup fresh, homemade coconut milk (or whatever milk you prefer, but coconut is AWESOME in this)
1/2-3/4 cup cottage cheese (I use this to add a kick of protein and additional creaminess–processed dairy like cheeses and yogurts don’t bother the milk-sensitive tummies in our family like plain milk does)
Optional additions:
Sweetener to taste (our milk was sweetened, so I didn’t use any additional sweetener)
Ground flax seed (I often toss 2T or so into smoothies for the nutrition bonus, but I didn’t think about it for this batch)

Put all ingredients besides bananas into blender. Cut up bananas and add them to blender. Blend until smooth and serve immediately.

DSC_1344

Creamy, fruity, delicious! No single flavor overpowers the others, and it was just the right level of sweet. Yum!

Leave a Reply

